Best of Friends

“Emil,” I shouted as I ran towards him.

He turned to me and smiled. As I approached him, he was silent and didn’t have his usual energy. In my mind I know there is something wrong with him but I didn’t dare to ask.

We walked on the crowded Session Road and he is still not saying anything. Emilio Magpantay is my friend since high school and I know when something is wrong. We slowly walked along the busy sidewalk and then he broke the silence.

“We’re moving,” he said.

I stared at him and I saw a blank face.

“Is this why you are not going to school anymore?”

He nodded.

“So when?”

He was silent. He uttered no word. We continued to walk and I waited for his reply. I again looked at him but he was just staring at the ground.

“Next week,” he said finally, “we are moving next week.”

“Where then?”

“Not far,” he said, “just in Pampanga.”

He turned his gaze on me and gave his teasing grin. He knows that I’d be left alone, against the world.

“Don’t worry,” he said with glee, “I’ll be back in a flash.”

I stared at him and gave him a slight grin.

“I understood that reference,” I said smiling.

“So where now?” he said as he gives me his annoying grin.

“Let’s kick some asses for the last time before you go!”

As we walked away from the crowd, zombies from behind us slowly wandered around.

Leave a Reply

